Skip to content

Pureed Maple Kabocha

February 8, 2010

What is this kabocha I speak of?  It’s a Japanese pumpkin, and here’s what it looks like:

It looks almost just like a buttercup squash, and in fact I really have a hard time telling them apart.  The international market here (K & S) always has a sign up that says buttercup squash, but they often have kabochas in the same bin.  They are VERY similar.  Heather wrote a post on how to tell them apart here.  I think these particular ones are kabochas, but I’m never positive unless they have stickers on them.  I LOVE when the stickers are on them.

So anyway, what do I do with a kabocha?  My favorite way to eat these little babies is pureed.  It’s a very thick (think mashed potato consistency), sweet, and creamy addition to any lunch, and you can even eat it for dessert.  Here’s what to do:

Kristy’s Pureed Kabocha

Wash the skins of the kabochas really well because you’re going to eat them!  Line a baking sheet/pan with foil, and roast them whole for 2-2 1/2 hours at 275 degrees.

Once your house smells good and the kabochas are nice and soft, cut them in half and scoop out the seeds and cut off the stems/butts.  Slice each one into chunks and throw the chunks in the food processor.

Here’s what I add to the kabocha (1 whole kabocha) in the food processor:

  • Soy milk – enough to make the processor puree the squash – just keep adding it if they squash chunks are staying solid
  • Lots of nutmeg
  • Lots of cinnamon
  • ~1 tsp. vanilla
  • ~1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 snack-size container of unsweetened applesauce (I think it’s 4oz.)
  • Stevia/splenda/sweetener of choice – I use a lot because I like it SWEET
  • …and the secret ingredient – Maple Extract!  I use probably 2 tsp.

Puree until smooth, and keep adding liquid as you need it.  You can use soy milk, other non-dairy milks, water, or anything else that’s wet!  I like to eat it cold with almond butter on top for lunch.

Please ignore the plastic container…It’s packed for lunch tomorrow!

You could thin it a bit and have a sweet soup, use it in a smoothie, or maybe even freeze it like ice cream (I’ll have to try that one.).  Let me know if you like the maple!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 6:04 pm

    Maple extract…I’ll try that next time. Love your pureed recipe, and yes, those definitely look like kabochas to me. :)

    The last bunch I bought from K & S were not ripe. Yucky. :(

  2. February 8, 2010 8:27 pm

    I think maybe these were not ripe, too…They didn’t get ‘fall-apart’ soft when I cooked them, and even pureed there were itty bitty bits of hardness. Still good, though!

    Do you ever eat the seeds? I’ve wondered if they’re worth toasting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

